Everyone needs a holiday – appreciation

It’s often said that taking time off from work, especially when you work in an always-busy environment, can leave you feeling full of guilt. To my own dissatisfaction I must admit that I’m one of those people.

I admit that I get a kick out of being busy, I love always being on the go, making sure I do my exercise/fitness and fill my days with things that make me feel like I make the most of them.

However, after reflecting on a year that’s been far from what I anticipated I decided this holiday was going to be different – I wanted to fill my days with relaxation, laughs, sunshine and let my always-busy mind get used to the slow(er) pace.

So what did I do? Well if you’re like me or if you just enjoy the ‘good life’ I’d urge you to try the following:

– Surround yourself with people who don’t take themselves too seriously, they’ll make you laugh till your tummy hurts (trust me, I couldn’t flex my muscles the next day). I mean this is basically the theme-tune to the holiday: baby monkey riding on a pig

– Read the books you want to read! It’s easy to convince yourself that you don’t have time to read during the week but on holiday you have no excuse – I would highly recommend Return to Mandalay or if you want a good laugh go for The stars’ tennis balls

– Use local ingredients and cook your heart out! We made full use of the BBQ and marinated meats from the local butchers whilst chopping meters of delicious fresh veg:
IMG_1607.JPG

IMG_1611.JPG

– Taste the local wine! It appeared that Italy is a bit empty in August and as we stayed in a remote village we had to go on the search for wine as the ‘usual place’ was closed for the month. However after trying to ask for help in our best Italian we came away with 12 litres of wine, which we fully enjoyed:

IMG_1610.JPG

– Enjoy your time in the sunshine (use sun lotion – I’m all about SPF 50). Enjoy every second of it and whilst you’re at it appreciate life, your health, your friends and yourself:

IMG_1606.JPG

What is the one thing that makes a holiday for you?

Leave a Reply

